Karnataka Verdict: BJP Falls Short as Congress, JD(S) Join HandsTop Stories

May 16, 2018 04:47
Karnataka Verdict: BJP Falls Short as Congress, JD(S) Join Hands

(Image source from: The Tribune)

For the first time in Karnataka Assembly elections, 2018 elections have been felicitous for Bharatiya Janata Party to acquire a absolute majority of 104 seats out of 222 constituencies while other two constituencies, RR Nagar and Jaya Nagar will be beholding re-poll on May 28.

BJP emerged as a single largest party to win majority seats in Karnataka elections, though it fell short of complete majority with combine of Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) with 118 seats, considering one Bahujan Samaj Party and two independents, have staked a claim to form government.

The balloting which took place on May 12, saw Karnataka’s broad voter turnout of 72.13 percent since 1952 Assembly elections.

The Governor of Karnataka, Vajubhai Vala told delegation leaders from both sides that he will be deciding on the succeeding course of action after receiving the official notice from Election Commission, that is expected late on Tuesday or Wednesday morning, as stated by EC officials.

The legislative party meetings of the three parties will be held on Wednesday subsequently BJP and Congress parties meeting Governor straightaway after the legislative party encounters, as said by the political parties.

Siddaramaiah, a leader of Indian National Congress said, “All India Congress Committee has decided to extend support. We have given it in writing to the Governor that we are extending unconditional support to the government to be formed by JD(S) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy. Two independents are also with us. We have also given the same in writing to JD(S) national President and former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda and Mr. Kumaraswamy too.”

He further said, “In democracy, the government is former on the basis of numbers, we have it and we are confident that Governor will go with numbers.”

The BJP reinforced its count to 104 seats as compared to 40 in 2013, while Congress has fallen to 78 seats as compared to 122 in previous assembly and the JD(S) have shrunken to 37 seats compared to previous assembly elections.

By Sowmya Sangam

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)