ICC announces the schedule for T20 World Cup 2022Cricket

January 21, 2022 07:48
ICC announces the schedule for T20 World Cup 2022

(Image source from: naidunia.com)

The schedule for the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2022 is out and Team India will open their battle with Pakistan in the Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23rd this year. The ICC announced the schedule for the T20 World Cup 2022 that will take place in Australia. The ICC T20 World Cupe 2022 will start on October 16th and seven venues: Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney are locked. The final will take place on November 13th at the MCG. The host Australia will take on New Zealand in their first match on October 22nd. 16 teams will clash in the T20 World Cup and there would be 45 league matches.

Team India is placed in Group 2 along with Bangladesh and South Africa apart from the winner of Group B and runner-up of Group A. Rohit Sharma will lead Team India in the T20 World Cup. The T20 World Cup was planned to take place in Australia in 2020 but it was pushed due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. It was postponed to 2021 and India was considered to host the T20 World Cup which was later pushed to UAE. T20 World Cup 2022 will run on Super 12 format. The first round of matches will take place in Geelong and Tasmania.


Group A: Sri Lanka, Namibia, two qualifiers

Group B: West Indies, Scotland, two qualifiers

Super 12 stage:

Group 1: Australia, Afghanistan, England, New Zealand, A1, B2

Group 2: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa, B1, A2

India's Matches:

India vs Pakistan, Melbourne Cricket Ground - October 23

India vs Group A runner up, Sydney Cricket Ground - October 27

India vs South Africa, Perth Stadium - October 30

India vs Bangladesh, Adelaide Oval - November 2

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
T20 World Cup 2022